Silk adds such a nice touch to quilts!

So a few years ago I made a wall hanging with three silk roses on it, quilted it and raffled it off at my old quilt guild’s raffle. Then this past year I made another one, but this time with owls. I was already gone by the time the auction came around, so I’m not sure if it was that popular, but I really like the way it turned out, so I made this item with the quilted leaves.  The silk is so vibrant, the quilting adds even more dimension, and the black hand-dyed fabric background gives it a little depth. The silk dupioni is expensive, but I was able to purchase a mixed bag of scraps at the old Chicago Quilt Show – which now is hosted in Cincy.

Anyway, if you are looking to liven up a wall hanging or table runner, I’d think silk, because it really does look great! (disclaimer: I don’t know how well it washes, it does fray a lot, and if you fuse it be careful not to burn it!) View some more pictures of this item on my Etsy page.

Silk Dupioni leaf wall hanging

Here is a picture of the vibrant quilt.

Leave a Reply

